Jump to the guide
Device Lawsuit GuidePlain-English guide

Medical device lawsuit guide

Medical device lawsuit settlements and verdicts: what the numbers mean

Real published figures from Philips CPAP, hernia mesh, Bard port catheter and hip implant cases, and how fees come out of a recovery.

Last reviewed

Start with the quick answerQuestions readers ask

An implant, surgical mesh, a port catheter and the box it ships in.

Key takeaways

Device cases pay out in two main ways. Global settlements, like Philips's $1.075 billion personal-injury deal, are totals shared by every eligible claimant. Jury verdicts, like the $88 million Patterson v. Covidien award in August 2026, go to one plaintiff and can be cut or overturned on appeal. Your net recovery is the gross amount minus attorney fees and case costs. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.

  • Philips paid $1.075 billion to resolve CPAP personal-injury claims. That total covers all registered claimants, not one person.
  • Recent device bellwether verdicts include $88 million (Covidien hernia mesh, Aug. 4, 2026) and $40 million (Bard port catheter, Sept. 4, 2026).
  • Large verdicts can shrink. A $502 million hip implant verdict from 2016 was reduced, then vacated on appeal in 2018.
  • Many settlements are confidential. BD has not disclosed what it agreed to pay to settle most Bard hernia mesh cases in 2024.
  • Under a contingency fee, the lawyer's fee comes out of any recovery. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.

Settlements vs verdicts

Global settlement Jury verdict
Who it covers Many claimants at once One plaintiff, or a few
How the amount is set Negotiated between the company and plaintiffs’ lawyers Decided by a jury after trial
Is the figure public? Sometimes; many are confidential Usually reported in court records and news
Is it final? Final once the program’s conditions are met Can be reduced, appealed or retried
Example Philips CPAP personal injury: $1.075 billion Patterson v. Covidien: $88 million

A settlement total is not what one person gets. It is the pot shared by everyone who qualifies. A verdict is one person’s result, but it may not be the final number.

Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.

Published device settlements

These are the device settlements with public figures or terms in our sources.

Case What was settled Amount Status
Philips CPAP (MDL 3014) Personal-injury claims $1.075 billion: $1.050 billion for the injury fund plus $25 million for notice and administration Final at the Jan. 31, 2025 registration deadline; paid in the first half of 2025
Philips CPAP (MDL 3014) Economic-loss class claims Minimum $479 million when announced Sept. 7, 2023; Philips recorded a EUR 575 million provision Final approval April 25, 2024; claims period closed Aug. 9, 2024
Philips CPAP (MDL 3014) Medical monitoring class claims Capped at $25 million Final in January 2025
Bard/Davol hernia mesh (BD) “The vast majority” of existing hernia cases Confidential; within BD’s existing reserve Announced Oct. 2, 2024; paid over multiple years
Organon implant claims 56 plaintiffs and claimants Confidential, “non-material” Agreement signed March 12, 2026

The Philips injury settlement had a condition. It became final only after registrations passed the required 95% threshold by Jan. 31, 2025. Payment followed in the first half of 2025.

BD shows why totals can be hard to find. Blogs circulate figures for its hernia mesh deal, but BD has not disclosed the amount. BD reported a product liability accrual of about $1.6 billion at June 30, 2026. That figure covers all of BD’s product liability matters, not hernia mesh alone.

Published device verdicts

These are recent jury verdicts in device cases, with what happened next where our sources report it.

Case Device Date Verdict What happened next
Patterson v. Covidien (D. Mass.) Symbotex hernia mesh Aug. 4, 2026 $88 million: $77 million to Larry Patterson, $11 million to Tammy Patterson for loss of consortium Covidien said it would challenge the verdict
Divelbliss bellwether (D. Ariz.) Bard implanted port catheter Sept. 4, 2026 $40 million compensatory; no punitive damages Bard said it would pursue post-trial and appeal options
Trevino v. Davol (R.I. Superior Court) Bard Ventralex hernia patch August 2022 $4.8 million Not reported in our sources
Stinson bellwether (S.D. Ohio) Bard PerFix Plug hernia mesh Reported November 2023 $500,000 Not reported in our sources
Second Bard hernia mesh bellwether (S.D. Ohio) Bard Ventralex patch April 2022 About $250,000 Not reported in our sources
Booker v. Bard (D. Ariz.) Bard IVC filter March 2018 $3.6 million Not reported in our sources

Defendants win too. The first Bard port catheter bellwether ended in a defense verdict on two claims and a mistrial on two others. A separate bellwether over a port infection also ended in a Bard win.

Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.

When large verdicts shrink

Headline numbers are not always what a plaintiff collects.

Pinnacle hip implants. In March 2016, a Texas federal jury awarded $502 million to five plaintiffs against J&J and DePuy over metal-on-metal hips. That included $142 million in actual damages and $360 million in punitive damages. The judgment was later reduced to $151 million. On April 25, 2018, the Fifth Circuit vacated that judgment and ordered a new trial. In December 2016, a second Pinnacle bellwether returned a $1.04 billion verdict for six plaintiffs, according to plaintiffs’ counsel’s website.

Barba v. Boston Scientific. A Delaware jury awarded $100 million. The award was reduced on appeal to $10 million. Our source does not give the year.

Both cases show the same lesson. A trial judge can reduce an award, and an appeals court can order a new trial. That is why a lawyer looks at how a verdict ended, not just how it began.

How settlement money is divided

In a large program, the total is split among many people. The program sets rules for who qualifies and how much each person gets. Philips, for example, set aside $1.050 billion for a personal-injury fund and $25 million for notice and administration.

Your share depends on your own facts and the program’s rules. The device, the injury, the treatment you needed and your records can all matter. Two people in the same settlement can receive different amounts.

Some people stay out. In the Philips MDL, people who declined or did not qualify kept their own cases. They then had to meet strict court-ordered steps. See MDL vs class action for how this works.

How contingency fees affect your net recovery

Many device injury firms work on contingency. That means the lawyer is paid a share of the money you recover. If there is no recovery, there is usually no fee. Lanier, Wisner Baum and TorHoerman state contingency terms on their websites. Levin Papantonio says clients “pay nothing unless we win.”

Your net recovery is what is left after the deductions:

Step What it is
Gross recovery The settlement share or verdict amount you are awarded
Minus attorney fee The percentage set in your written fee agreement
Minus case costs Money the firm advanced for records, filing and trial costs, if your agreement says they are repaid
Equals net recovery What you receive

Some firms advance case costs. Lanier’s PowerPort page, for example, says it advances them. Ask any firm these questions before you sign:

  • What percentage is the fee, and does it change if the case goes to trial?
  • Are case costs taken out before or after the fee is calculated?
  • Do I owe costs if we lose?
  • Will any medical bills or insurance payments need to be repaid from my recovery?
  • Will my case be referred to or shared with another firm?

What to do next

Our Do I qualify? page lists the records that matter for each device. A strong case still fails if it is filed late. Ask a lawyer which filing deadline applies in your state, or read our deadlines page.

The guide homepage lists five firms that take device cases, with their fee terms and published results.

Questions readers ask us

What is the average medical device lawsuit settlement?

There is no reliable public average. Many settlements are confidential, including BD's 2024 Bard hernia mesh deal and Organon's 2026 implant settlement. Published totals, like Philips's $1.075 billion, are shared among many people. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.

When would I actually receive money?

It varies. Philips reached its personal-injury settlement in 2024, it became final in January 2025, and payment occurred in the first half of 2025. BD's hernia mesh settlement pays out over multiple years.

Do I pay taxes on a device injury settlement?

Tax rules depend on what the payment is for. This guide does not cover tax law. Ask your lawyer or a tax professional before you sign.

Can a verdict be taken away after I win?

Yes. Judges can reduce verdicts, and appeals courts can order new trials. A $100 million verdict against Boston Scientific was reduced on appeal to $10 million. A $502 million hip verdict was reduced and later vacated.

Do I have to pay the lawyer if I lose?

Under a contingency fee, there is usually no fee if there is no recovery. Ask how case costs are handled if you lose. Get the terms in writing before you sign.

Our sources

  1. Philips: Annual Report 2025 (SEC filing), CPAP litigation and settlements
  2. Seeger Weiss: Philips CPAP recall lawsuit (economic-loss settlement)
  3. FindLaw: Bellwether verdict against Medtronic in Covidien hernia mesh lawsuit (August 2026)
  4. HarrisMartin: Plaintiff awarded $40M in bellwether implanted port catheter trial (September 2026)
  5. Verus: $40 million Bard port verdict marks shift in federal bellwether litigation
  6. Becton Dickinson: Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026
  7. MedTech Dive: BD settles hernia mesh lawsuits (October 2024)
  8. CVN: Rhode Island jury awards $4.8M in bellwether hernia mesh trial (August 2022)
  9. HarrisMartin: Ohio federal jury awards C.R. Bard hernia mesh plaintiff $250,000 (April 2022)
  10. Levin Papantonio Rafferty: $500K awarded in Bard PerFix Plug bellwether (November 2023)
  11. Gallagher & Kennedy: Booker v. Bard press release (March 2018)
  12. Insurance Journal: Jury awards $502M in J&J/DePuy Pinnacle hip trial (March 18, 2016)
  13. ABA Journal: 5th Circuit orders new trial in Pinnacle hip case (April 2018)
  14. Lanier Law Firm: Verdicts and settlements (December 2016 Pinnacle verdict)
  15. Motley Rice: Jonathan D. Orent attorney bio (Barba v. Boston Scientific)
  16. Organon: Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2026
  17. Lanier Law Firm: Bard PowerPort lawsuit (fee and cost terms)
  18. Wisner Baum: Bard PowerPort lawsuit (fee terms)
  19. TorHoerman Law: Spinal cord stimulator lawsuit (fee terms)
  20. Levin Papantonio Rafferty: Hernia mesh lawsuit (fee terms)